Author Topic: Up-grade  (Read 1343 times)

Offline Geezer_

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • friends with the same mental disorder....priceless
Up-grade
« on: Oct 05, 2018, 10:13 AM »
Looking for some guidance: I’m up-grading to and setting up for Ice a Humminbird  Helix 7 chirp DI GPS G2 . If I’m reading correctly it comes pre loaded with  Humminbird UniMap and AutoChart Live. My question is what if any map system should I add ( Humminbird Lake Master, LakeMaster Plus, Smart Strike, Navionics Gold/HotMaps or Navionics Platinum) any knowledge here would be appreciated
Geezer

Offline Gunflint

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Up-grade
« Reply #1 on: Oct 05, 2018, 10:15 AM »
I have a Helix 5 and Lakemaster Plus.  Works great.

I might be cautious about Navionics in the long-term because they were just purchased by Garmin.
Veritas Odium Parit

Offline laer0302

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Oct 05, 2018, 11:09 AM »
I have a helix 5 and found a deal on Smart Strike card on Amazon for $160 and pulled the trigger on that. Like it so far!

Offline ice dawg

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • Tawny-"Ice Pooch"
« Reply #3 on: Oct 05, 2018, 11:11 AM »
Geezer, I have the same Helix unit and use the Lakemaster Plus Chip. It has HD maps for some of the lakes I fish in my area. You may want to check the lake list for your area on the Lakemaster website.
It seems to go from zero to hero all some have to do is lie.

Offline muskyon46

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • Wishin I was Fishin><{}:>
« Reply #4 on: Oct 05, 2018, 01:02 PM »
Nice Gale, I don't have alot of experience with those but joe might. I agree with what icedawg said that you should be able to check the pertinent website for the Lakes they work on. Bad thing with utah is there's not alot of HD lakes. You may get the berry, gorge and bear. Let us know how it goes and I'll look forward to checking it out at Henry's
     Wyoming & Idaho    

Offline piersm2

• Team IceShanty Regular