Author Topic: Wind Powered Battery Charger  (Read 5475 times)

fishmann

Wind Powered Battery Charger
« on: Jan 15, 2004, 05:31 PM »
I've been kicking this idea around for a couple years, but never pursued it. Has anyone ever built or seen such a device? Something that would be self contained and charge a battery whenever the wind was blowing. I know they are available already built, but quite spendy. I was thinking of making one with a small amp automotive alternator, large fan, etc. Just looking for info or ideas. I used to have an 8x8 permanant house with great lights, lights over each hole, a blower motor in heater ducting to blow air from the ceiling to the holes and keep em open, an alarm system, all kinds of goodies. (I'm in the auto biz, all kinds of stuff that you can do with 12 volts) It wasn't much of a hassle to haul out a deep cycle, but would be nice to not have to ever transport it. Heres a link to a manufactured one, but at $800, not really what I had in mind. Anyone?

http://www.cetsolar.com/airmarinex.htm

Offline woodyjdh

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Hardwater Nut!-Certified!
Re:Wind Powered Battery Charger
« Reply #1 on: Jan 15, 2004, 09:37 PM »
After looking at a few RV websites, I too wondered why a person couldn't make a small wind powered generator to keep the batteries at peak.  My thoughts were to use 4-5 small metal funnels, (plastic might work too), and plug the holes.  Mount them on a small kiddie bike wheel, and mount the alternator in the center.  Then using a pipe, mount the setup in the air a foot or so above the fish house.  The problem is I don't have an alternator laying around to try this out.  Too bad we can't get together, and make this sucker work!?!
Where there's a Woody, there's a way!
I don't suffer from insanity-I enjoy every minute of it!

fishmann

« Reply #2 on: Jan 16, 2004, 08:13 AM »