Author Topic: Bottoms  (Read 6108 times)

Offline jabers69

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Hardwater Nut!
Bottoms
« on: Nov 17, 2005, 10:23 PM »
I'm new to whitefish fishing . I've been told that mud bottoms are better then say rockie or gravel  bottoms . Is there anything to this . I fish on GrandLake in New Brunswick.  It has both types of bottoms
hook and cook

Offline samson

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Bottoms
« Reply #1 on: Nov 17, 2005, 10:40 PM »
don't know too much about whitefish but i do know that they prefer mud bottom flats cos of the bloodworms and other invertebrae. 

Offline Water Wolf

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Ice anglers walk on water.
« Reply #2 on: Nov 22, 2005, 12:20 AM »
don't know too much about whitefish but i do know that they prefer mud bottom flats cos of the bloodworms and other invertebrate. 
I know that whitefish feed everywhere in the water column from a few cm under the ice to a few cm off the bottom. But mid depths can be quite productive, though the larger fish are usually along the bottom.
Partly weedy flats may attract the whitefish too for the same reason as mud flats food.
A small wire worm or small bead-head nymph will usually work well, make sure you tye them so they hang horizontally in the water.
Good luck. :tipup:

WW

Offline jacksmelt71

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Nov 22, 2005, 04:55 PM »
in n. maine we get them on muddy flats near the bottom but ive got them 15ft. of the bottom on tip ups and live bait before. i usually get them on a sz. 7 pimple with a 6in. leader w/ a sz. 6 hook. put some cut bait or small garden worms on for bait and your ready. the nymph technique sounds like it would work well too but ive yet to try it.

Offline samson

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Nov 23, 2005, 08:54 AM »
good tips, gonna try it out this season

Offline jabers69

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #5 on: Dec 01, 2005, 05:56 PM »
Thanks for the help  :thumbsup:
hook and cook

Offline Tambo