The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: Icegator Attacker Review ........  (Read 69451 times)

Offline LoneWolf

• Tournaments/Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Hardwater Fanatic! >))))>
Icegator Attacker Review ........
« on: Mar 02, 2009, 06:39 PM »

Icegator Review:  Attacker Model with 12 ah Batteries

Icegator in Action This is my first attempt at putting together a small video in my review.

Like my past reviews I’m posting this late in the season. The reason is to get as much field testing in as possible and to make this as honest as possible.

Features:

Made in the USA.
Light weight aluminum output shaft parallel to motor shaft supported by large (20mm6004) low friction ball bearing.
Single stage high speed, high torque gear reduction.
Powerful PMDC brush type motor rated .5HP (4.4 peak hp at 24)
High speed – approximately 285 RPM at the cutting edge for the 8” Icegator, 430 RPM  for the 6” Icegator and 195 RPM for the 12 volt Icegator.
Integral forward-off-reverse switch that also serves as the current carrying conductors.
Reverse feature allows for back flushing the ice slush, that remains after drilling, away from and under the ice hole.
24 volt power source with the ability to run from 12 volt, 9ah batteries or 12 volt, 12ah batteries. This offers an onboard battery source that allows for faster drilling and more holes to be drilled per charging cycle.
Install the 12 volt block system and you can run the unit on 12 volts by clamping to any ATV battery or an inside the shanty battery.
Batteries are securely held in place by an easily removable bolt down cover.
Handles are CNC machined from ¾” HDPE plastic making for an indestructible handle.

Test Conditions:

The test conditions varied from the air temperature, to ice thickness and weather.