The ice fishing VT boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: SEYMOUR  (Read 1761 times)

Offline vt icehunter

• IceShanty Rookie
SEYMOUR
« on: Mar 02, 2014, 12:00 PM »
I haven't had much experience with jigging and would like to try jigging for lakers. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to use for lures (size and color). Is it best to fish the lure bare or add some bait? Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Offline fishingidjit

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: SEYMOUR
« Reply #1 on: Mar 02, 2014, 04:22 PM »
Large white airplane jigs, large (1 oz) white Spro bucktail jigs  and large Swedish pimples are my favorites Start jigging just off the bottom and work your way up the water column slowly trying to get hits or use a fish finder to find them and fish that depth. good luck !   

Offline Fish Wayniac

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Mar 02, 2014, 04:28 PM »
Im no pro but I did get my biggest laker jigging , its my avitar. I think it was a buck tail jig. The big airplane jigs work. Sweedish pimples silver and gold. Tip the hook with piece of cut bait.Start bouncing the lure off the bottom and raise up and doen . I dont own a flasher like a vexlar but they help. Goodluck!

Offline tench

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Mar 02, 2014, 08:08 PM »
With a vexilar you can trigger more bites. They like you to keep it away from them and they'll hit on the pause or sometimes during a big rip. You can't out-reel them and they're usually more than willing to chase your bait up a ways.
The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable,
a perpetual series of occasions for hope.
~John Buchan

Offline Icemanvt

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Mar 03, 2014, 05:45 AM »
Swedish pimples tipped with smelt
FLAG!!

Offline vt icehunter

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Mar 03, 2014, 02:32 PM »