Author Topic: Setting drag for walleye  (Read 10934 times)

Offline TheLionsFan

• Team IceShanty Regular
Setting drag for walleye
« on: Jan 03, 2018, 06:38 AM »
Just spooled my reels with 6# Trilene Micro Ice, after normally using 8#.  I switched to 6# but was told I should use a drag.  Is this a good idea? And if so, how do I know how much to use?  I’ve never used a drag before.

Thanks guys

Chute82

Re: Setting drag for walleye
« Reply #1 on: Jan 03, 2018, 06:56 AM »
Drag on the reel is set with the drag knob...adjust by pulling the line with your hand until you set the tension to your liking..while fighting the fish and want more drag tighten, want less drag while fighting loosen.  If you set the drag to tight you’ll either break the line or pull the hook.

Offline TheLionsFan

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 03, 2018, 07:34 AM »
Drag on the reel is set with the drag knob...adjust by pulling the line with your hand until you set the tension to your liking..while fighting the fish and want more drag tighten, want less drag while fighting loosen.  If you set the drag to tight you’ll either break the line or pull the hook.

Lol I know HOW to set it and what it’s for, but didn’t know if there was a certain way to know how much drag to use or not.  I played around with it and set it, for now at least, to pull out with a decent amount of pull.  Wouldn’t think an average size walleye for this body of water im fishing (18-22”) would break 6# THAT easy.

Chute82

« Reply #3 on: Jan 03, 2018, 08:11 AM »
I’ve never used a drag before.

Thanks guys

Never used a drag before?  But know how to set it and what it’s for...ok

Offline ice dawg

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • Tawny-"Ice Pooch"
« Reply #4 on: Jan 03, 2018, 08:15 AM »