Author Topic: What are some of the best ice cleats out there?  (Read 4128 times)

Offline grayghoste78

• IceShanty Rookie
What are some of the best ice cleats out there?
« on: Dec 26, 2017, 08:27 AM »
Title says it all. 
What ones do you prefer, and why?
Pic would be appreciated.  Thanks.

Offline PerchOnIce

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: What are some of the best ice cleats out there?
« Reply #2 on: Dec 26, 2017, 11:00 AM »
Kahtoola Micro Spikes. A little on the pricier end but i have been using the same pair for more than 8 years and they are still in great shape, great traction.

Offline 12ICEFISH

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Can't catch, if you don't fish!
« Reply #3 on: Dec 26, 2017, 12:43 PM »
I bought a pair of these at Gart Brothers Sports in Denver about 1980ish?? had to fix one strap, and shoe strings replaced a couple times.. Using straps now, and bought a pair for my son a few years ago. They are great, except if theres like an inch of powdery snow on the ice, because the cleats aren't real long.. Stabilicers look very similar!

https://www.amazon.com/Korkers-Footwear-Extreme-Ice-10-11-5/dp/B009LDC398/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1514313484&sr=8-5&keywords=korker+ice+cleats
Herm Krepel

Offline wyoutdoors

• Iceshanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Dec 26, 2017, 12:49 PM »
Khatoola microSpikes. There are knock-offs and cheaper designs based off of them, but I do consider these the Cadillac of slip on cleats. I will also say though, anything is better than busting your tailbone or worse out on the ice a long distance from your vehicle.  :tipup:

Offline iloveacrappiedinner

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Dec 26, 2017, 12:55 PM »