The ice fishing MN boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Central Minnesota  (Read 1485 times)

Offline piersm2

• Team IceShanty Regular
Central Minnesota
« on: Dec 05, 2017, 08:16 AM »
I am new to Central Minnesota (St Cloud Area) and wondering who all on here is close by.  Should be on the lakes relatively soon.  Not a huge fan of early ice fishing by myself so if anyone is interested, let me know!  Also, what lakes around the area are decent for pan fish and/or walleye?
Minnesconsin born and raised

Offline Monticatgeek

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Central Minnesota
« Reply #1 on: Dec 05, 2017, 10:01 AM »
I am out of Monticello. mainly fish the wright county lakes with in 10 to 15 miles of my place. I do try to get to the Horseshoe chain of lakes up by Richmond and Cold Springs once or twice a season when I can.
Fishing is not a hobby it is a way of life

Offline piersm2

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 05, 2017, 08:20 PM »
Is the fishing pretty good there?  There is a ton of water to cover!

Offline Monticatgeek

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Dec 05, 2017, 10:48 PM »
no real giants but can find eater size when you feel like eating a few. The Horseshoe chain of lakes by Cold Springs and Richmond is a fun place to fish if you like to catch channel catfish through the ice. some of the wright county lakes see a lot of pressure from people coming out of the metro area but if you learn to adapt you can still catch them. hint use tactics that others are not using. example this one lake it seems like everyone fishes crappie minnows. I found with this particular lake you need to down size your jig and go to plastics over the mininows and then be patient and you can catch them when no one else is.

Offline Monticatgeek

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Dec 05, 2017, 10:58 PM »