Author Topic: New to Sd ice fishing  (Read 1741 times)

Offline csjohanson

• IceShanty Rookie
New to Sd ice fishing
« on: Nov 27, 2017, 03:05 PM »
Hi, From Nebraska where its 70+ today we are setting record temps today. I hate it.
Im new to ice fishing in SD but last year in late middle December I was able to make 1 trip to lake poinsett. Managed to get a few nice perch and the smallest walleye ice ever caught in my life :thumbsup: lol. I'm hoping to make a few trips back somewhere up there this year because it looks like it will be awhile till ice here.
 I did enjoy how cheap bait was when i was there. We pay $4+ for a dozen minnows here and they count them 1 by 1 >:(.
   Good luck everyone!! Hope to be headed north sooner than later!!

Offline wyoutdoors

• Iceshanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: New to Sd ice fishing
« Reply #1 on: Nov 27, 2017, 11:24 PM »
Hi, From Nebraska where its 70+ today we are setting record temps today. I hate it.
Im new to ice fishing in SD but last year in late middle December I was able to make 1 trip to lake poinsett. Managed to get a few nice perch and the smallest walleye ice ever caught in my life :thumbsup: lol. I'm hoping to make a few trips back somewhere up there this year because it looks like it will be awhile till ice here.
 I did enjoy how cheap bait was when i was there. We pay $4+ for a dozen minnows here and they count them 1 by 1 >:(.
   Good luck everyone!! Hope to be headed north sooner than later!!

I have three major out-of-states trips planned for this season but hope to make it down to Nebraska and the Sandhills too if I can!  :tipup:

Offline csjohanson

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Nov 28, 2017, 08:11 AM »
I have three major out-of-states trips planned for this season but hope to make it down to Nebraska and the Sandhills too if I can!  :tipup: