Author Topic: Strikemaster Glide Lite "Franken-sled"  (Read 18480 times)

Offline JBrown31

• IceShanty Rookie
Strikemaster Glide Lite "Franken-sled"
« on: Jan 05, 2011, 09:42 PM »
Hi guys... first time poster, long time lurker here.  First off I just want to say what a great site Iceshanty.com really is.  I'm a rookie ice fisherman and this site has been very helpful to me.

I posted this over on another forum, but I wanted to sign up and post it here... and I wanted to thank the guys who have already modified their Glide Lites, because they have been an awesome source of ideas.

Just before Christmas, I decided that I wanted to get into ice fishing more seriously than I have been in the past.  I researched all the latest gear and gadgets... figured out how much money I wanted to spend... and determined what I wanted to buy.  For a sled, I had a full-size Jet sled in mind.  However, on Christmas morning I was surprised with an ice fishing related gift from my dad... which happened to be the Strikemaster Glide Lite sled.  This sled is about half the size of your typical sled, designed for ultimate mobility and convenience.

I must admit, at first I was a bit concerned.  I thought I was going to have to buy another, bigger, sled... which would result in one more extra thing to store up in the loft (which my wife hates, BTW).  After searching the web for modification ideas, I decided to Pimp My Sled, if you will.  Below is a series of before and after pictures, showing the modifications that I made and how they will be used.

This first one is a picture of the sled, before any modification, just as it comes out of the box (bucket was added).  The sled is approximately 18" wide, 16" high, and around two feet long... made out of a thin black polyethylene plastic I believe.