New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: Walleye Set Up  (Read 4101 times)

Offline AON09

• Team IceShanty Regular
Walleye Set Up
« on: Jan 23, 2015, 12:26 AM »
What pound line are you guys runnin for eyes? Looking to make my first trip up to Oneida. Do guys run leaders or just a certain pound line?

Offline Beardsicles

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Walleye Set Up
« Reply #1 on: Jan 23, 2015, 12:38 AM »
I'm relatively new to jigging for walleye, but the general idea I got from searching the forums have been 4-6# flouro or mono. If your catching some giants, 6-8# might be the way to go. The lakes I fish in WI have a lot of eater size eyes so I have my rods spooled with 6# micro ice just in case I hook a bigger one, but I could probably get away with 4#. Traditionally, I run tip-ups for walleye. 20-30 lb Dacron with anywhere from 12-24 inches of flourocarbon for a leader. Hope this helps. There's probably some guys that have better or more specific advice.
Stay frosty.

Offline merkleyb

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Guess where I am?
« Reply #2 on: Jan 23, 2015, 01:33 AM »
no steel leaders necessary. it'll spook 'em
Anyone can be a fisherman in May...E.H.

Offline northernnyice

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Jan 23, 2015, 04:35 AM »
Fluoro leaders. Do not use 4-6lb fluoro leaders. Unless you are fishing for miniature walleyes. Ive been broken off on 12lb fluoro on 7-10 pound walleyes several times. Im bumping up to 17lb fluoro. Its still quite thin and im fishing crystal clear water and it works well. This is what my dad uses. Pile of 10-12 pounders.

Lots of guys up here are turning to micro braid for walleye leader material. 8-10lb Fireline crystal is nice.

3ft leaderbwith a split shot a foot up. If your in heavy current, add some slide weights above the lwader and maybe an extra split shot on the leader.

Offline filetandrelease

• Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #4 on: Jan 23, 2015, 04:43 AM »