New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: REFLECTIONS OF THE NORTHERN CHALLENGE  (Read 4094 times)

Offline NY TROOPER

• IceShanty Rookie
REFLECTIONS OF THE NORTHERN CHALLENGE
« on: Feb 08, 2009, 01:43 PM »
I have been making the trip north for this derby for many years.  Last year I sat out and returned this year with my son for his first outing.  Our group had 16 fishing adults.  Many of them brought their children for the first time as well.  The kids had a great time and the weather was perfect for the event. 

I am not sure who is responsible, but I suspect it may be ADK DAVE(?)  My son went past the door prize trailer during the afternoon.  The gentleman, who was the same one we offered assistance to earlier in the morning, was calling off the numbers and prizes.  During the afternoon this gentleman pulled my son aside and asked him how he was enjoying the day.  After a little bit of conversation Zack was rewarded with a jigging pole, fishing reel and carrying case.  To this man, and if it was you ADK Dave, our sincerest thanks.  That was a very nice thing that you did for a young boy and it really made his weekend.

On the down side of things.  To the so called "young adults" that attended this event.  One of the things that I have observed over the years is that this derby is becoming very family oriented.  Translation being, more and more children are attending each year such as mine did this year.  There were several of the "young adults" who had obviously consumed more than their share of adult beverages for the day.  I am not saying that it's wrong to enjoy yourself.  But the behavior of several individuals at the drawing ceremony at the end of the day was enough that one of our group had to step in and speak to him.  Add to that these people were operating snowmobiles and ATV's in very close proximity to others.  I have no problem reporting any further problems to the authorities on scene should this behavior continue.