Author Topic: weight of shacks?  (Read 5647 times)

Offline trev.357

• Team IceShanty Regular
weight of shacks?
« on: Oct 18, 2004, 03:56 PM »
i was just wondering how much everyones hard side shacks weigh and how much ice before you take them on and leave them. since this is my first year with a shack I'm asking alot of questions. almost done building it just have some outside trim and some caulking ,some inside decorative paneling ,some hole covers and hook up the furnace now i just have to find a way to get it to the lake or i might just be pretending to ice fish this year

Offline billditrite

• Iceshanty Retired Mod
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • R.I.P. Bobberstop 6-14-1944 ~ 7-21-2010
Re: weight of shacks?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 18, 2004, 04:46 PM »
my 8x8 hardshack weighs about 400 lbs but it is brand new.they put on a few pound over the years so its good to start as light as possible.i will pit it out when i see 5" of good clear ice!!hope this helps and remeber your ice picks!!

grumpymoe

« Reply #2 on: Oct 19, 2004, 08:27 AM »
never actually weighed my 6x10 shanty....but i would easily guestimate the weight to be at least 2000lbs plus....i would feel comfortable putting it on 5-6 inches of clear hard ice....last year when i set it up, i actually drove on 8 inches...but this was clear and hard...the next day i moved it out to a preferred spot that had 10-11 inches.....where it stayed for the remainder of the hardwater season......be safe, and make sure you're equipped with picks, rope and a buddy in case you get into a bad spot....Grump :tipup:

Offline killitandgrillit

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Drilling and Grilling!
« Reply #3 on: Oct 19, 2004, 11:27 AM »
My new 6x8 is at least 1000 pounds, possibly more. We have a winch to get it on and off the trailer, and this year I bought a Indy 650 triple and studded the track to pull it around/off the lake as needed. I do have a clam portable for days when we want to try something new too.