Author Topic: Perch or bluegills??  (Read 10430 times)

Offline amazinmoose

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Flag UPPP!!
Perch or bluegills??
« on: Dec 28, 2005, 01:33 PM »
im new to the pike thing...   and wish to use native bait, that i jig up (hopefully) and was wonder what some of you guys use and have success with?  Perch? kivers? or something else?? and what are best sizes??  i have learned that you fish the bottom, a foot or two up. correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks again –moose
flag up, tightlines; fish on....   -moose

Offline Lobes

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Just Fishin'
Re: Perch or bluegills??
« Reply #1 on: Dec 28, 2005, 05:29 PM »
I've caught pike on all kinds of panfish. All sizes work good but I get bigger pike on the bigger eating size. I have always done the best on bluegills and sunfish. Usually run about a number four treble hook towards the rear of the dorsal fin and keep it 2' - 3' from the bottom in water 15' feet deep or more. I run the bait a little higher in shallower water. Pike will always come up for a live bait. They also will pluck dead baits right off the bottom.
 :tipup:

Mecosta County / Lakeview, Michigan

Offline iceintheveins

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • If you won't fight for freedom, your not American!
« Reply #2 on: Dec 28, 2005, 05:59 PM »
It depends on which of the two is most numerous. In my area perch are more common than bluegills and I like to whack a small 4 - 6" perch on the head and put a couple split shot above it so it swims and struggles with a subtle action instead of swimming all over the place.
Politically incorrect, and proud of it.

Offline Mogwhy

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • if you can't find them keep drilling!!!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #3 on: Jan 06, 2006, 01:10 PM »
I have great luck in the summer using any sunfish

Offline Rangerclay

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • My fishin' buddies!
« Reply #4 on: Jan 17, 2006, 11:24 AM »
Be sure it is legal to use native fish for bait.  It is illegal here in NY.

ranger :tipup: