Author Topic: Line choice for lakers  (Read 2535 times)

Offline Dkreager

• Team IceShanty Regular
Line choice for lakers
« on: Jan 01, 2018, 09:40 PM »
I'm new to ice shanty but this seems a lot better than fish explorer. My in-laws bought a cabin in grand lake so I'm considering starting my love/hate relationship with that giant puddle known as lake granby. From what I've gathered finding the fish is the hardest part of the whole deal but I was wondering about line choice. I'd imagine some decent braid and a heavy mono leader but what lb test braid and what color? I was always told trout have pretty good eye sight so I'm clueless. I've got my heavy action ugly stick and some 3 1/2" tubes in a few colors and my flasher. Ill punch holes for the next 2 years trying to find these damn things just need some help with the line lol

Offline TimK

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Line choice for lakers
« Reply #1 on: Jan 01, 2018, 10:23 PM »
I use braided line as a mainline and 8lb fluorocarbon leader material, have tamed fairly large lakers with this setup and a steady drag.I dunno what pound the braid is, 20 ought to be fine that aspect is fairly trivial.  In my experience braided line is necessary  as it has less stretch which can be a factor on hook sets in over 60fow.  Braided is also a pain in the dick when it's below freezing so a shanty and heater come in handy or you'll hate your life. 
Friends don't let Friends use Tip-Ups

Offline Dkreager

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 01, 2018, 10:31 PM »
That makes sense. What about color? There are a 100 different color braided lines out there? I've got my hut and heater so I'm good on that. 2' leader do it or is that over kill?

Offline TimK

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Jan 01, 2018, 10:45 PM »
That makes sense. What about color? There are a 100 different color braided lines out there? I've got my hut and heater so I'm good on that. 2' leader do it or is that over kill?