Author Topic: Turning a Smitty Sled  (Read 871 times)

Offline rdhammah

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Turning a Smitty Sled
« on: Jan 04, 2022, 10:59 PM »
I've been using a Smitty Sled for a few years now and it works fine going straight or slight angle, but turning around or cutting a sharp turn is a problem. my skis don't slide. The edges cuts and drags the snow. is this avoidable or just the nature of the beast?

Offline SPIN 1

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Turning a Smitty Sled
« Reply #1 on: Jan 05, 2022, 05:56 AM »
Good morning rdhammah .  Type of ski , how they’re attached, and condition of them all depends.  Need skis ?let me know not far from you
More than 3 cars in my driveway when I get home ? Probably an intervention! I’m outta there!

Offline river_scum

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • hook n cook
« Reply #2 on: Jan 05, 2022, 06:15 AM »
just the nature of skies i guess.  i loop my rope around my waist and go.  dont do many turns though.  i know where im headed.  my sled rarely weighs more than 60-80 pounds though. 
real fishermen don't ask "where you catch those"

OANN the real story

- member here since -2003- IN.

Offline SPIN 1

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 05, 2022, 06:26 AM »
just the nature of skies i guess.  i loop my rope around my waist and go.  dont do many turns though.  i know where im headed.  my sled rarely weighs more than 60-80 pounds though.
not all skis are created equal. Many different variants  my 2 cents
More than 3 cars in my driveway when I get home ? Probably an intervention! I’m outta there!

Offline SPIN 1

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Jan 05, 2022, 06:34 AM »
And 60-80 pounds don’t matter can carry that     it’s the 150-200 pound sled with gear without a machine to pull that matters

Offline E Z turn

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Jan 05, 2022, 09:00 AM »
My ropes are tied to the base of the sled and then run thru round eye bolts in the tip of each ski.
Oops! is too late.

Offline badger132