Author Topic: trying smelt Fishing  (Read 2099 times)

Offline nhtrout

• IceShanty Rookie
trying smelt Fishing
« on: Jan 21, 2008, 06:16 PM »
 I would like to give smelt fishing a try and it looks like this weekend i am going to get a chance (fri Night) i have my self a two man portable shelter and jig poles. if you guys could pleases fill in the rest for me  time to fish, a decent spot, bait, Pretty much everthing. i have never done this before. Due i need a special license any info to help would be very much appreciated

Thank you

Adam

Offline hamadog

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
Re: trying smelt Fishing
« Reply #1 on: Jan 21, 2008, 06:27 PM »
Go to Suds and Soda in greenland and they will set you up with some rods and bait (sea worms). They will give you direction to a couple of places just down the street. Bring a chisel to cut a trough in the ice ( 6 or 8 inches wide by whatever length you need) and set your portable over it. Use small pieces of the worm on various style hooks or jigs and try different depths. Chances are you wont be alone out there so don't be afraid to ask questions. 

Offline Vic

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 21, 2008, 06:29 PM »
you could always try great bay up in newington theirs a place where you can rent a bob house and all the gear at the great bay retreat

Offline nhtrout

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 21, 2008, 06:31 PM »
What time should i be looking at to fish i hear most people talking about night time, and would you have the number for either of these places

Thank You

Adam

Offline hamadog

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
« Reply #4 on: Jan 21, 2008, 06:34 PM »
Usually people fish the incoming tides i think.

Offline Jiffy Man

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #5 on: Jan 21, 2008, 10:50 PM »