Author Topic: Looking For Ice Auger Opinions  (Read 2530 times)

Offline Depthfinder

• IceShanty Rookie
Looking For Ice Auger Opinions
« on: Dec 03, 2018, 06:28 AM »
I am considering trying out the 8" K-Drill.  They recommend a Milwaukee or Dewalt 18 V, 4 Amp minimum hammer drill.  Has anyone had success with a different set up?  Or just using a drill + any auger?  Thanks

Offline Mancaveburnett

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Looking For Ice Auger Opinions
« Reply #1 on: Dec 03, 2018, 06:56 AM »
milwuakee+clam plate+Mora=great set up.
I have been using this set up for a few years now and love it. I added a digger auger holder at the beginning of last season for my 4 wheeler/ snowmobile and its perfect.

Offline georgeb

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Moved West Michigan --> Indianapolis
« Reply #2 on: Dec 03, 2018, 07:28 AM »
My advice would be to get the Strikemaster 40 V. After spending the money on the auger, drill, plate etc. you my as well spend a little extra and get a top of the line auger that you can trust. In the cold temps of UP my buddy had a drill and K-drill and all of his batteries died...quick. I ran circles around him with the 40 V and never came close to burning through one battery. It is definitely worth the extra investment.

Offline Depthfinder

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 04, 2018, 06:15 AM »
Thank you for the input

Offline bowmandan

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Dec 04, 2018, 07:24 AM »
DEwalt 20 volt plus 8 inch k drill.     Very good unit by would recommend

Offline yooperdave

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Dec 06, 2018, 07:03 AM »
look at the eskimo pistol bit 8",,,, gotta love the reduced weight factor. polycarbonate augers are going to be the future of augers.  i am going to rent one sunday and give it a try, the you tube videos are impressive.
da splake chaser

Offline Gunflint

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #6 on: Dec 06, 2018, 07:16 AM »