Author Topic: Cascade  (Read 1336 times)

Offline Dwayneb

• IceShanty Rookie
Cascade
« on: Jan 25, 2016, 01:40 AM »
Hello from Utah,

I'm sure this has been asked before, but I thought I would try to get some first hand information.  I am a retired military vet living in Utah and would like to come up to Cascade for some perch fishing.  I grew up in Michigan fishing the Great Lakes for perch with my dad.   Unfortunately, over the past 20+ yrs my military travels have kept me from enjoying good consistent perch fishing.  I'm settled in northern Utah and would appreciate anyone who is willing to share knowledge to improve my chances on finding some of the better perch Cascade has to offer.  Given the fact it will be around 800 miles roundtrip, it would be nice to have some success....any help would be appreciated...

thanks
Dwayne

Offline k2muskie

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Cascade
« Reply #1 on: Jan 25, 2016, 08:23 AM »
First of all Dwayneb thank you for your service...we too are retired military in northern Utah.  If you can pick up a fish and go map you can order on line.  This map will give you lake info and also the bottom contour showing breaks, flats, and other things like where rivers meet...great map and that's how we got our start fishing Cascade.  Fishing these areas will produce for you...again breaks, flats etc fishing right on the breakline or a little off has worked for us.  Lures we used were Perch Pounders, Lindy Darters, VMC, Sonic Bait Fish, Rapala Rip'n Raps tipped the lures with a snippet of crawler or maggot or Perch Eye.  Having a flasher is also nice as it will allow you to see if there's activity below.