Author Topic: Power Pro line  (Read 4273 times)

Offline Trophy Hunter

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Power Pro line
« on: Dec 16, 2004, 06:55 PM »
Has anyone used power pro line any info on this line would be awesome!I'm thinking of trying it this winter.

Offline Tautog Rich

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Power Pro line
« Reply #1 on: Dec 18, 2004, 06:31 AM »
I am new to hardwater so you might have to take my observations with a grain of Salt Lite, but, having said that, understand that I bridge fish for striped bass and have landed fish of 50 lbs(using a bridge gaff to bring them up), have professionally guided and tied flies commercially, so I am not a babe in the woods entirely. Power Pro is a great line for spinning in the surf, or for open water casting in the lakes. It is so strong, it will cut thru non-ceramic or Titanium Nitride Guides(very special saltwater guides that are very nearly actualy bulletproof, but very heavy in weight, believe it or not).  It is NOT for use with handlines, and you should NOT attempt to fight a fish via handline with it. One slip, and if it cuts thru the tendons of your hands, you may find your fishing days severely curtailed. If you use it on ice, you should also be aware that one night bridge fishing, back when I tried it, there was rime ice on the bridge pilings and the line touched it. Though the bass was only 20 lbs or so, it popped like nothing! I went back to dacron so I could handline short bass up the bridge. Superlines are hell on guides and flesh, great for fine diameter work, so judge for yourself if it's for you. Just be careful handling a fish with it. I have used Fireline, and it seemed less likely to take a shot from structure than the Power Pro (blackfishing on wrecks), though you should judge for yourself. I use a High Power Anti-abrasion Stren for blackfish over barnacles now, and even with the line partially shredded it is still strong, so I might try Stren to see how it handles ice.

Offline slabby