The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: ATV lifespan and dependability  (Read 7110 times)

Offline saltyshores

• Team IceShanty Maniac
ATV lifespan and dependability
« on: Feb 22, 2006, 05:28 PM »
I can't get a reliable answer from ATV dealers or their service departments, so I'm asking all you IceShanty ATV users -- what has been your experience with the expected lifespan (mileage, years, etc.) of ATVs you have owned? How high a mileage before you get concerned about trading? Which brands do you recommend? Thanks to all of you!
 :tipup: :D

saltyshores

Offline doughtdawg

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • LTD!
Re: ATV lifespan and dependability
« Reply #1 on: Feb 22, 2006, 06:01 PM »
I have a Yamaha Big Bear 400 that I bought at Ken's Yamaha.  It is either a 2000 or an 01, we bought it as a left over for 4000, without four wheel drive.  I was a freshman in highschool when we got it, and beleive me, if you think youve seen a fourwheeler beatin, you havnt seen this one yet... This has been rolled over front ways, side ways, backwards, you name it, its happened... The only thing weve had to do to it was rebuild the starter and put in a temp. sender.  When I had to rebuild the startor I went back to Ken's Yamaha where I bought it, he tried to get me to spend upwards of 200 dollars just for internal parts, I basically told him to shove it, I got home, went online and ordered everything from a company in Gorham, New Hampshire and it costed me less than 60.  There isn't a spedometer on it, so therefor I'm not sure how many miles are on it but im guessing easily hundreds.  I used to drive it everyday.  My dad even uses it to hook the winch onto logs and pull them off to split... they are BIG logs too, nothing small... The only other problem we had is that there is a reserve fuel filter in the gas tank whcih fell off and got dirt and crap into the carb, we had to clean that, works fine, and there is moisture in the choke cable so