Author Topic: hooking perch eyes  (Read 3273 times)

Offline little fish

• IceShanty Rookie
hooking perch eyes
« on: Sep 29, 2005, 06:29 AM »
Hi,
    I am new to ice fishing and  do not want to look stupid, but I have read that you use
"perch eyes" as bait! Do you just push the hook into the eye, or is there other way.

Many thanks,
                          Bert.  ??? ??? ???

Offline Bobberstop

• Iceshanty Retired Mod
  • Team IceShanty Addict
  • Have Ice Will Fish R.I.P. TH10 3/20/09
Re: hooking perch eyes
« Reply #1 on: Sep 29, 2005, 08:15 AM »
Bert welcome to the shanty. To answer your question, Yes just run the hook through the eye and drop it down the hole.                                    Ron
Bobberstop

Offline C.C.

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • DO NOT BE AFRAID !!!!
« Reply #2 on: Sep 29, 2005, 08:46 AM »
Welcome aboard Little Fish. Like bobberstop said, just hook them. The only thing I can add is don't expect super thing's from them. I started using them some last winter and they are about like anything else, sometimes they work and sometimes they don't. Not a sure fire thing.
        Jim

Offline samson

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Sep 29, 2005, 10:07 AM »
Hi,
    I am new to ice fishing and  do not want to look stupid, but I have read that you use
"perch eyes" as bait! Do you just push the hook into the eye, or is there other way.

Many thanks,
                          Bert.  ??? ??? ???

on the back of the eye there's some membrane, hook it through there, it stays on the hook longer.  and an easy to pop the eyes out is to push down on the cheek and with your needle nose pliers kind of scoop it out, no need for paper clips, knives, etc.  i find that it works alright most of time, try putting it on the end of your favourite rattle spoon. hope this helps bud

Offline Bean

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Sep 29, 2005, 11:04 AM »