The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Auger size.  (Read 2758 times)

Offline elk hunter

• IceShanty Rookie
Auger size.
« on: Jan 02, 2017, 02:08 PM »
Looking to purchase a gas auger, pros and cons between 8" and 10".
If the elk aren't bugling.    I am fishing

Offline Chris338378

• Team IceShantyholic
Re: Auger size.
« Reply #1 on: Jan 02, 2017, 02:17 PM »
Most fish you catch will fit through an eight inch hole and one other BIG plus to it is kids are less likely to fall through it, I couldn't imagine going through life knowing a little kid fell through a hole I made.  The draw back is if you get a big fish you have to pull out the transducer if you fish with a flasher.  I've been using a gas auger since 2003 and haven't ever had a fish not fit through the hole. 

Offline Hooked up

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 02, 2017, 02:33 PM »
I looked at both the 8" and 10" augers when looking to buy one myself.  Ended up splitting the difference and bought a 9".  I think the biggest plus for a 10" auger would be if you did a lot of fishing for bigger fish, like lake trout. 

Offline SummerSucks

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 02, 2017, 02:54 PM »
Even adults with big clumsy feet can fall in a 10" hole.  Hurts your pride more than anything else.

Offline pmmpete

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Jan 02, 2017, 03:20 PM »
I bought a 10" auger because I fish for kokanee on Georgetown Lake, and want to be able to see them through the hole.  You can catch a lot more kokanee if they are in the top 8'-10' of water and you can see them nipping at your lure.  I've caught some pretty big lake trout and pike, but none of them were so big that I couldn't have gotten them through an 8" hole.  However, a 10" hole does make landing big fish a bit easier.

Offline missoulafish

• Team IceShantyholic
  • TēM HîPē FÿSh
« Reply #5 on: Jan 02, 2017, 03:28 PM »