The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: My Auger is Trying to Kill Me  (Read 2958 times)

Offline Frozenflyguy

• IceShanty Rookie
My Auger is Trying to Kill Me
« on: Dec 06, 2015, 06:18 PM »
Hi All

My auger is trying to kill me!

I have a strike master 10" with a new solo power head and and old Lazer Mag auger with chipper blade. Last year trying to cut through the last 1/2 inch of ice at the bottom of an 18" hole and this year cutting through the last 1/2 inch of ice on a 6" (black ice) hole ... my auger is grabbing and ripping free of my arms! It is all I can do to hold onto the thing and finish the hole! Does anyone know why this is happening and what I can do to cut a hole safely? I had to build up the nerve to drill 5 holes yesterday after the first one damn near ripped my right arm out of the socket! It used to cut like a dream ... now it scares me. That said ... it was worth it for the fish  !

Could it be that the new solo power head is too powerful for the Lazer Mag chipper auger? you would think an auger is an auger but perhaps it is not...

It also sucks that even with brand new blades my 8" manual strike master auger I can't get a hole started either ... so the hand auger doesn't want to cut and the power auger does right up until the bottom of the hole!

I really hope that someone can me figure out the issues with my manual auger or power auger.

Thanks in advance

FFG

Offline Curley

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Hardwater Nut!
Re: My Auger is Trying to Kill Me
« Reply #1 on: Dec 06, 2015, 06:34 PM »
Best bet is to try new blades and send the old ones out to be sharpened. As for the hand auger Try the old blades. I had one that I screwed up the angle rendering it as junk. Make sure you have the blades on properly.

Offline missoulafish

• Team IceShantyholic
  • TēM HîPē FÿSh
« Reply #2 on: Dec 06, 2015, 07:07 PM »