Author Topic: K-Drill, Clam Plate, something else?  (Read 1327 times)

ItsmeitsmeitsJSG

K-Drill, Clam Plate, something else?
« on: Feb 14, 2018, 11:41 AM »
whats up guys, I'm finally stepping up and buying a real auger to replace my hand auger. Right now I'm thinking about a K-drill, Should I also get a clam plate? Or should I get something else. Im going smelting tomorrow so I dont have tons of time to do research for myself.

Offline MFallon

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: K-Drill, Clam Plate, something else?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 14, 2018, 11:58 AM »
I use an 8" kdrill with Milwalkee fuel and see no need for the clam plate. Works great.

ItsmeitsmeitsJSG

« Reply #2 on: Feb 14, 2018, 12:02 PM »
ment to post this on the general forum guys, sorry for the duplicate

Offline DU4LIFE

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Feb 14, 2018, 12:05 PM »
I have a like new 8" strikemaster auger (solo engine) for sale. pm if interested . Starts easy, chews through the ice very fast. Only reason I'm selling is I purchased a 10" strikemaster . Located in Alton.  :tipup:

Offline swnoel

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Feb 14, 2018, 02:16 PM »
I have an 8"  K-Drill with a Milwaukee fuel drill and don't see any use for the clam plate. I also had the 4ah batteries and decided to buy a 9ah battery... go with the 9ah battery, it's night and day! If you don't already  have a drill capable of powering the drill , you might consider the Milwaukee Mud Mixer. It's built heavier than the drill and costs about the same. Just make sure you buy the 9ah battery! It's light and I no longer have a sore back from carrying my Jiffy at the end of the day!!

Offline SirCranksalot

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #5 on: Feb 14, 2018, 09:45 PM »
Do you think a Clam plate would be needed with a Ridgid drill with an aux handle?
Keep yer stick on the ice!

Offline benny8

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #6 on: Feb 15, 2018, 04:25 AM »