The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: Brown Trout Question (not what you think)  (Read 1699 times)

Offline LilWeezy

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • SHUT UP AND FISH
Brown Trout Question (not what you think)
« on: Feb 07, 2012, 02:03 PM »
been reading a lil into fish species does anyone know if theres a difference between a german brown and what we catch here in maine.

Offline grub662

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Ya got any smelts?
Re: Brown Trout Question (not what you think)
« Reply #1 on: Feb 07, 2012, 02:05 PM »
Brown trout originate in Europe
If you fish the wrong lure long and hard enough it will eventually become the right lure!

Offline icefisha22

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Feb 07, 2012, 02:46 PM »
I'm no expert on this subject, so please correct me if i am wrong. From my fishing experiences, and what the mdifw website says under species identification, the browns we have are german browns.  This being said, 3 years back, i was fishing a small river in central maine for browns and came across an informational sign put up by the MDIFW.  The sign was explaining that they had stocked a new, or different, strain of browns in a few places as a comparison.  I was fortunate enough to catch 2 specimens, both of the different strain. These browns had a dark golden with a bright red adipose fin, and also a somewhat reddish golden tail and anal fin.  I cannot recall what the sign said about their exact name, but they were noticeably different from any other brown i have caught, and i have seen my share.
"many go fishing all of their lives without knowing that it is not fish that they are after"

surflizard

« Reply #3 on: Feb 07, 2012, 02:52 PM »
This is an article from the fishermens voice magazine.