The Ice Fishing MA is board

Author Topic: Electric Drill Auger ....Type for a grumpy old man  (Read 5088 times)

Offline ronbgood55

• Team IceShanty Regular
Electric Drill Auger ....Type for a grumpy old man
« on: Mar 10, 2022, 06:41 PM »
Hi guys...age is taking its foll on me. I still punch 6/7 holes each trip with my 5" auger . I had spuds from 1940 Ford rear axles, straight blade auger spoon auger and 8" Jiffy which I gave away to my grandsons. An electric drill  seems right up my alley , The grill type I have NO experience with that is why I'm reaching out to you guys for some in puts. I don't need a Cadillac type at 84 yrs. old I just want something that is better than man power..If you get with what I mean.nothing to beak the bank but gets the job done.....Take Care

Offline PerchMan45

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Electric Drill Auger ....Type for a grumpy old man
« Reply #1 on: Mar 10, 2022, 06:53 PM »
Good on you for getting out at 84. That’s something to be proud of.

Electric augers are a big cost but they are definitely the best option. I do not personally own one but plan on getting one soon to replace gas/hand. The Ion augers are the top of the line but they run upwards of $800. I have a friend that swears by Strikemaster electric augers those are probably the next grade down from Ion. Thunder Bay electric I am not familiar with but are cheaper than Ion and Strikemaster.

Offline lowaccord66

• Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #2 on: Mar 10, 2022, 06:54 PM »
Ron I like reading that you get out there still.  Would recommend a brushless drill for sure and a clam plate to protect from sudden shock from the drill so you dont risk your wrists. 

Offline tomb raider

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Mar 10, 2022, 07:59 PM »
Don’t know where you live but since you ice fish Forge pond in Granby. I’m guessing you live in the general area.Go see Paul or his kids at Granby Bait. I’m pretty sure they will put you on one that won’t break your bank.