The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: 8" HT Polar Ice Hand Auger?  (Read 8473 times)

Offline tla100

• Team IceShanty Regular
8" HT Polar Ice Hand Auger?
« on: Dec 31, 2009, 12:33 AM »
Hey, anybody use one? I bout a 8" Ht Polar Ice auger while back and it won't cut thru ice unless u got bout 150 lbs of pressure on it. Took 2 guys bout half hour to drill 2 holes in 24" of ice.  Also tried to shim blades to adjust angle of cut., still no go. They sent new blades, same. They did send me a whole new auger (no charge) and got in mail other day. I haven't tried that one yet. Old auger is painted black, new one is blue. Just wondered if anybody uses one similar. Got an Eskimo gas now and works awesome. Thanks.

Offline iaslab

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: 8" HT Polar Ice Hand Auger?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 31, 2009, 07:33 AM »
I have an 8" Strikemaster Mora Hand auger. It doesnt cut that well either. You still cant beat a 5-6" Lazer auger if you want a good hand auger/ The Lazer's blades are angled differently.

Offline blufloyd

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
« Reply #2 on: Dec 31, 2009, 07:38 AM »
The key to all ice augers is to not lean on them. Bend the screw a little it won't cut.
Its rpms not pressure.  Loose screws won't help either.
I fish better with a lit cigar; some people fish better with talent. ~Nick Lyons, Bright Rivers, 1977

Offline slamboney

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Dec 31, 2009, 07:42 AM »
8" is too big to cut by hand. A friend of mine used to have a 8" hand auger and it was brutal. If your cutting by hand don't go bigger than 6".

Offline mongosmash

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Dec 31, 2009, 10:39 AM »
8" is too big to cut by hand. A friend of mine used to have a 8" hand auger and it was brutal. If your cutting by hand don't go bigger than 6".