The ice fishing PA boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Flashers  (Read 2525 times)

Offline woodstock

• Team IceShanty Regular
Flashers
« on: Nov 17, 2014, 02:48 PM »
I've been thinking about getting a flasher for this season. This will be my first flasher and I have limited experience with using one. After researching them on the internet I'm thinking of getting the Marcum VX1 Pro. Beginners simplicity and reasonable cost. Now I would like to hear some first hand knowledge from experienced users, what you use and why. Greatly appreciate the help. :)

Offline PaWhiskerWacker

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Flashers
« Reply #1 on: Nov 17, 2014, 03:28 PM »
I use a vintage Eagle silent sixty two, I really like the one color, and it will mark anything over 1/64 oz.  I also use a few of my buddy's fl-8's.  I like the fl-8 and think it is about all a beginner needs.  If I had my choice, and money was no option, I would go with the Marcum Lx-6, it has everything but gps.  But for now my Eagle catches me fish, so I'm sticking with it, I love vintage fishing equip.

Offline whoay

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • giddy up
« Reply #2 on: Nov 17, 2014, 03:32 PM »
go for the vx 1 pro you'll love it for your first flasher can't go wrong with the marcums..... i own two a lx 5 and an lx 6 love em both.....

Offline Basspunker182

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Nov 17, 2014, 03:40 PM »
The VX 1 Pro is a great model for the price. I picked one up at the beginning of last year's season and couldn't be happier. The battery life is great, the unit is very convenient and easy to move around with, and it has everything you need to find fish. The zoom feature is great and comes in handy more than you think. The newer models definitely have advances in the sonar, electronics and options, but come at a stiff increase in price.

Offline fishinpreacher

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Nov 17, 2014, 04:14 PM »