Ice Fishing Iowa board sponsored by

Author Topic: NEW TO BOARD-CLEAR LAKE  (Read 2619 times)

Offline coldfisherman

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Do you like my lighted doorbell button?
NEW TO BOARD-CLEAR LAKE
« on: Jan 24, 2005, 09:23 AM »
Just wanted to say hello to all! ;D

This is my first year ice fishing and was happy to find a forum with some local info. Very cool! :D

My friend and I just finished our hut and have set up by the island on Clear Lake.

We were pretty excited to get our hut out on the ice for the first time and do some fishin! ;D

We didn't have a lot of luck our first time out in our new hut, but did have some good bites around sundown. We got a couple small walleyes to the top before they abandoned there dinner. I did catch a small walleye and a yellow in the same place awhile back. Since I'm fairly new at this I hope my luck will get better with time.

I know the fishing has been good around dusk but does anyone know what a good time might be to try in the morning. Any help would be appreciated. ???

Hope to see some of you this winter.

Peace Man! :thumbsup:
CESAR

FISHIN TILL THE BOTTOM DROPS OUT!

Offline crowbait

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: NEW TO BOARD-CLEAR LAKE
« Reply #1 on: Jan 24, 2005, 09:52 AM »
coldfisherman,   you might have to change your handle to warmfisherman since you got your hut done   ;)   ;D   NICE HUT!!        Haven't made it up there yet....the guys up there seem to be a little tight lipped about what is going on up there. Keep the rest of us posted on what is happenin up there. Went to Big Creek yesterday, slowed down after the wind picked up, but the ones we got were nice.

Offline coldfisherman

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 24, 2005, 11:27 AM »
Hiya Crowbait! ;D

Thanks for the compliment on the hut. It does beat a bucket. The wind blows most the time here so the shelter helps.

We will be going out this afternoon to open up the holes and get some fishing in before dusk. I'll keep ya posted on the results.