Author Topic: "Scared" to use Tip ups  (Read 4109 times)

Offline Tomhusker

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • We're making ICE boys!!
"Scared" to use Tip ups
« on: Jan 22, 2012, 07:37 PM »
 Not really like "OH MY GOD I'M SCARED TO USE TIP UPS!!!"

But I have never used them before. I bought a couple of the Big Foot and one Artic Fire, both from Frabil, but I have yet to set them out because I don't want to look stupid. I really need to get over this problem. Every time I go out I get all fired up to use them, then find an excuse to leave them in the sled.
 It would be nice to know someone in the area who uses them and I could learn from.

just venting a little, I guess.

Offline campfindit2

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: "Scared" to use Tip ups
« Reply #1 on: Jan 22, 2012, 07:43 PM »
What's to fear? If you set them up wrong who's gonna know?

Not sure what your fishing. With a little background we send you in the right direction.

Offline Tomhusker

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Jan 22, 2012, 07:49 PM »
 Yeah I know, I have no idea why I feel like this.

I will be looking to get into some northerns primarily. But I know there are LM bass in there too. The lake runs anywhere from 6 to 18 FOW, with lots of dink gills, a few eyes and a good supply of bass & snot rockets.

Offline campfindit2

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Jan 22, 2012, 07:52 PM »
Do you have them spooled with toothproof leads?

Offline WildOutdoorAddict

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Owner NEPL, Pro-Staff for PK Lures & Bobby Garland
« Reply #4 on: Jan 22, 2012, 07:53 PM »
If you search youtube I'm sure there is video on how to use them, if you need visual instruction to make you feel more comfortable with setting them up. And to be honest, 9 out of ten ice fisherman would be more than happy to show you how to set them up.. That's how we pass on the tradition! Take others out and show them how to do it.. ;D Good luck to you!

Offline Buck1985

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • The story of my life