Author Topic: CRAPPIES WHEN THE SUN IS OUT  (Read 3808 times)

Offline MACHINIST

• Team IceShanty Regular
CRAPPIES WHEN THE SUN IS OUT
« on: Feb 20, 2005, 01:10 PM »
I have a few good night pots for crappies but cant seem to find them in the middle of the day,always at nightime,dusk and dawn but not in the daytime.The places I fish are shallow 9-10 fow or less with lots of weedy and rocky spots,were would you guys fish for them in the daytime.Another lake that I fish I can get them in the daytime but dint do so well at night.I have tried the same tactics on my night spots that I use at the lake above but it doesn't work.Any suggestions?

Offline Van_Cleaver

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: CRAPPIES WHEN THE SUN IS OUT
« Reply #1 on: Feb 20, 2005, 04:43 PM »
Super Bowl Sun my brother and I were fishing for panfish on a local lake. About 3:00  on a sunny, warm(50), day I started shooting holes with my  Vex, as we were getting ready to go.  When I marked fish (22fow), it was a crappie. Was jigging with a Fat Boy with maggots. We stayed with the school for an hour and iced about a doz. The lake was deserted and we were catching crappie in the bright sunshine! My suggestion would be to look for deeper basins, and creek channels that adjoin the areas where you find them at night.

Offline bigredonice

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • keep searchin' 'till ya find 'em.
« Reply #2 on: Feb 20, 2005, 08:59 PM »
My suggestion would be to look for deeper basins, and creek channels that adjoin the areas where you find them at night.

definetly...they will suspend off of the first major drop off adjacent to the shallow water where you are catching them at prime time

Offline MACHINIST

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Feb 21, 2005, 10:51 AM »
COOL THANKS GUYS!!

Offline iceintheveins

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • If you won't fight for freedom, your not American!
« Reply #4 on: Feb 21, 2005, 11:29 PM »