The ice fishing PA boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Deeper Sonar  (Read 1557 times)

Offline RepGerg

• IceShanty Rookie
Deeper Sonar
« on: Jan 21, 2019, 10:00 AM »
My Xmas gift any hints ideas for ice fishing You Tube videos make me excited to try on ice on my local WPA lakes.
Thanks in advance

Offline bgabel

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Deeper Sonar
« Reply #1 on: Jan 25, 2019, 01:15 PM »
Deeper sonar is a great portable fish finder and has a nice flasher setting for ice fishing.  It can sometimes be finicky connecting to your phone via blue tooth.  Not sure if it was my phone having issues or the Deeper unit.  But I have been using mine for a few years on the ice and from my kayak.  Enjoy your new toy!
Fish on!

Offline RepGerg

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 25, 2019, 04:03 PM »
Thanks heading to High Point tomorrow will post how it worked.
Side note: Shadlure has great bait in stock also anything else you can think about for hardwater.

Offline chrisfish1

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 25, 2019, 06:56 PM »
I use a deeper strictly and I love it.  Little troublesome lugging that and a phone around and other stuff but the thing straight up works.  Just make sure you put in in ice fishing mode for the flasher.  If you have a spare android or iPhone to use strictly for the deeper while your regular phone stays in your pocket that helps.  I would recommend buying 1 or 2 spare portable battery packs to charge the deeper itself and phone.  Obviously a dedicated flasher is better but for 100 bucks (which the older models go for now but still work just as good). You absolutely can’t beat it.  Just keep the bottom of it clean and free of ice.  Also don’t drop it too hard into the hole or it will get trapped under the ice! 

Offline JMZ

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShanty Addict
  • AKA Dinkmaster
« Reply #4 on: Jan 25, 2019, 07:31 PM »