The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: Summer bait tanks  (Read 2589 times)

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
Summer bait tanks
« on: Mar 29, 2008, 09:56 AM »
Well when the ground thaws.....june july   Im thinking about starting my bait tank early by making an outside pond kinda   I got 2 8X10 pond liners and was thinking about gluiong them together  and making a cheap pond   anyone have luck with something like that?
I am a Veteran Not a Terrorist!

Offline GasBlaster

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Welcomes green fish
Re: Summer bait tanks
« Reply #1 on: Mar 29, 2008, 10:06 AM »
 I have never tried that ,But I did see one here once a guy with a tank in the ground under a rain gutter . The gutter emptied into his tank . He said he had good luck keeping bait in that .

Offline mainedukblaster

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • THE CAMP!!
« Reply #2 on: Mar 29, 2008, 10:12 AM »
Well when the ground thaws.....june july   Im thinking about starting my bait tank early by making an outside pond kinda   I got 2 8X10 pond liners and was thinking about gluiong them together  and making a cheap pond   anyone have luck with something like that?
always thinking huh hazzy .... about the tank!!  :clap:

Offline Mike G

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #3 on: Mar 29, 2008, 11:12 AM »
I think it's worth a try.  One thing that jumps to mind - 1) heat.  I'd consider putting the pond in shade if possible.  A shallow pond will get wicked hot and maybe kill the bait?  Good luck - keep us posted on myfishfinder.

Offline jimmyclaude

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • I Have Trouts!!!
« Reply #4 on: Mar 29, 2008, 11:15 AM »
Blaster, what is the purpose of the tank/pond? Year round bait supply?
Tastes like RockBass<br />                                             \"Official Horticulturalist of the NYRC\"

Offline mainedukblaster

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • THE CAMP!!