Author Topic: Garmin Panoptics  (Read 1612 times)

Offline DO57

• IceShanty Rookie
Garmin Panoptics
« on: Dec 10, 2018, 08:03 AM »
Has anyone used the Garmin Panoptics ?

Offline Seamonkey84

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Garmin Panoptics
« Reply #1 on: Dec 10, 2018, 10:02 AM »
I’m hoping to taking mine out for the first time on the ice. But I’ve been using it in my boat for a few months. It is an awesome tool.

Offline mkeller

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 12, 2018, 05:52 AM »
Just got mine and will be up in a few weeks looking to use it to find perch

Offline Craft Man

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 12, 2018, 12:20 PM »
I tried one a year ago, was not able to locate any fish with it.  Did have about an 17" walleye so did a "hi-tech" experiment.  Drilled a holes about 30', 60', & 90' from the unit, dropped him back down on a line about 10' below the ice in 23" of water in all three holes.  Could see the fish in the 30 & 60, but despite any adjustments couldn't get any definite marks at 90.   If I let him go to the bottom it was gone, even when I knew there was a fish in that immediate area I could not pick it up off the bottom.  Long story short, it may have value locating suspended fish, if you are like me and looking for walleye or perch that stay close to the bottom, it wasn't of any value.   

Offline Herms

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Dec 12, 2018, 02:36 PM »
So even in the 30-60 ft range you could not see him on the bottom?

Offline Craft Man

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Dec 12, 2018, 03:48 PM »
No, once I let enough line out to let him go to the bottom I couldn't locate him.  If you look at the Panoptix the "bottom" is not sharp and defined, at least not enough for me to pick out fish down there.  I also realized that all the videos I watched on youTube were locating schools of panfish.   

Offline clintonstick

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #6 on: Dec 12, 2018, 04:22 PM »