The Dark House Spearing board is sponsored by:

Author Topic: Ice block in or ice block out???  (Read 2852 times)

Offline Higgins

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • WHAT EVER IT TAKES
Ice block in or ice block out???
« on: Dec 14, 2008, 10:51 PM »
I have been spearing for about 5 or 6 years and I was wondering if any one knows why you should take your ice block out. The only reason I can think of is if you have a portable shanty and then you could put it back in the hole after you where done, other than that reason it can just be shoved under the ice. RIGHT ???

Offline Whatpole

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Hardwater Nut!
Re: Ice block in or ice block out???
« Reply #1 on: Dec 14, 2008, 11:25 PM »
I take it out so I can put it back in when I am done for the day (freezes up faster). I try to mark the hole the best I can so no one accidently take a dip. ;) ;D
"Isn't he precious." My daughter looking at a 12" walleye
"The Green Hornet strikes again!"

Offline Higgins

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • WHAT EVER IT TAKES
« Reply #2 on: Dec 14, 2008, 11:40 PM »
I take it out so I can put it back in when I am done for the day (freezes up faster). I try to mark the hole the best I can so no one accidently take a dip. ;) ;D

Yup, I mark my hole to with a small pine tree at the end of the season. But the block of ice should not make any difference cause I don't take my shanty off for over a month once it's out. Any one else no why you would take the ice block out ???

Offline pickledpike

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 15, 2008, 12:05 AM »
I take it out when im spearing in shallow water.  Most of my favorite spots are two to five feet of water underneath two feet plus of ice usually.  I just think it helps with visibility then.  Most the time I am in a portable too so it comes out to go back down the hole later.

Offline Whatpole

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #4 on: Dec 15, 2008, 08:58 AM »