The Dark House Spearing board is sponsored by:

Author Topic: Bench height for my new ice house?  (Read 4830 times)

Offline runout

• IceShanty Rookie
Bench height for my new ice house?
« on: Dec 07, 2011, 11:50 PM »
Hi all, I have been spearing for two years now out of my portable and am just finishing my first permanent dark house. It is 4'x6' with a with a 2'x4' hole. My question is on bench height. I am 6' 2" tall and the only thing I don't like about spearing out of my portable besides the setup/tare-down is the height of the seats in it (too short to be over the hole like I "think" I should be). Is there a standard height that people use or just whatever feels comfortable.

Offline spearingMN

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Bench height for my new ice house?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 08, 2011, 09:05 AM »
Im 5' 10" and mine are 18" tall to the top of the ply wood then i have 2 3/4" of foam on top. so i would go a inch or two higher for your height.

Offline Stewie

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 08, 2011, 09:11 AM »
Your kitchen chairs are 18 inches to the seat. Sit on one and see if it seems like the right height. If not, work from there. ;)

Offline PikeSticker

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Another day at the office~!
« Reply #3 on: Dec 09, 2011, 03:01 AM »
I'm also 6'2" and you definitely want to make sure your seat is at least high enough where your butt/thigh and lower leg are at a comfortable 90 degrees. You will be sitting a lot of hours sometimes and its much easier to just lean forward over the hole from that high position to line up the spear on target than if you are sitting too low.  I've seen several spearos using those plastic patio stacking chairs for a comfortable and effective seat. (You can nap in them pretty good too.)  And two can be easily stacked for storage in the same space as one in case you have a friend hanging out in the house on some days. My shack is 4 x 6 1/2 and has enough room for a second observer.