Author Topic: Strikemaster mora  (Read 1653 times)

Offline icebites

• Team IceShanty Regular
Strikemaster mora
« on: Mar 18, 2019, 09:46 PM »
I bought new blades in December of 2018 for my strikemaster mora 7 inch. Ended up getting a deal on a new Milwaukee m18 with two 5amh batteries and a clam plate.  Absolutely loved the setup and ended up drilling around 30 holes a trip for my friends and myself. Batteries were awesome by the way, not once did I need to use my backup battery and we had some cold days.  Nevertheless, my problem is that my blades are all nicked up and dulled now.  I am a novice ice fisher, is that common wear or should I make a change for next year?   I am looking at the strikemaster lazer 8 inch to pair with things but that is another 100 dollars into things. Believe me I’m hooked and will pay the 100 if need be but I was wondering what the ice fishing community felt about this situation? That vexilar is what got me hooked. I’m a video gamer from the 80’s so it doesn’t take much to peak my interest. Think Atari 2600 days. 

Offline dabluz

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Strikemaster mora
« Reply #1 on: Mar 18, 2019, 10:10 PM »
If your blades are beat up....I guess the only option is to buy new ones.  The blades on my Mora auger have lasted close to 50 years and are still sharp as razors.  But I hand sharpen them after every day of use.

Offline Longshoremen

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Mar 18, 2019, 11:10 PM »
Ice be mindful when walking from hole to hole when drilling so that you are not banging the blades on the ice, I've seen it before guys walking from hole to hole using there auger like a walking stick, put new blades on and always put your cover on when you are done. And make sure you are in drill mode and drill speed on low #1.👍

Offline jopes

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Mar 19, 2019, 02:41 AM »
Sounds like dirty ice.  It can Nick blades up quickly.
Don

Offline RyanW

• Team IceShanty Maniac