Author Topic: Propane heater vs cold temperature  (Read 1708 times)

Offline guifisher28

• IceShanty Rookie
Propane heater vs cold temperature
« on: Jan 21, 2019, 10:08 AM »
Hi guys,

I know this subject may have already been covered here but I need your advice on really cold weather propane heater trouble. I'm new to heating my shack for ice fishing and I'm trying to fine tune my equipment to stay warm and to have fun on ice.

I own a Martin F12S propane heater (5000 btu wire stand sunflower style heater, see below for picture). I use a 6 feet adapter to connect it on a 5 lbs propane tank. My shack is an Eskimo Quickfish 3i insulated pop tent.

Both past weekend, we had -25 Celsius and I couln'd make my heater running properly. My tank was about 3/4 full. The tank was in my pop tent on a foam mat. I made some tests back home to figure out things. When my tank and heater are inside and warm I go outside and run it right away, it works perfectly.  I know my heater works fine. But when I get on the ice and walk to the spot (1.5 km walk), my tank (even if it was inside before and wrapped in a jacket when I go out) gets cold and I can't get it to work wich is pretty frustrating. I ear some small amount of gas coming in the heater but the pressure seems really low. I manage to make it work at a really low level of heat and it stops frequently...

I read a lot of stuff on cold conditions vs propane and I understand that propane tanks don't like cold. Some people say, run your setup on a 20 lbs tank and you will be ok. Some say use a 5 lbs instead of a 1 lbs wich is what I am doing right now. I would like to have your advice according to my situation. Should I change for another heater ? Run on a 20 lbs tank ? I carry a lot of stuff and switching to a 20 lbs tank means more weight to me. If I have to do so, I may consider buying a 15000 btu flower top tank heater instead to have more heat for that weight...!