Author Topic: tip up bait for walleyes  (Read 6241 times)

Offline BassInTheGrass

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • hans?
tip up bait for walleyes
« on: Jan 04, 2009, 07:42 PM »
what is the best type of bait for walleyes on tip ups? medium sized minnows like bass minnows or is there something else? i am new to walleye fishing and would like to locate some with tip ups before i start jigging for them. thanks for the help.

Offline fishstalker

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: tip up bait for walleyes
« Reply #1 on: Jan 04, 2009, 08:10 PM »
All i use in Champlain are "hunts" minnows and small suckers, mainly because they are both very hardy. Your gonna need a minnow that is gonna  be alive for long periods of time on a hook. I usually spend the whole weekend on the ice so i need a bait that will stay alive for at least 2 days on a hook, and will keep on squirming. Get ones that are between 3-4 inches.

Offline Melbs7

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Jan 04, 2009, 09:17 PM »
I usually spend the whole weekend on the ice so i need a bait that will stay alive for at least 2 days on a hook, and will keep on squirming.

Umm... catch some fish and they don't have to stay alive for 2 days!! LOL  j/k

:clap:

Offline BassInTheGrass

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • hans?
« Reply #3 on: Jan 05, 2009, 05:29 PM »
what about a hook, ive heard small treble hooks and also just small bait holder hooks, what is best? also, where are you hooking the fish, in the mouth or back? thanks again.

Offline icefishinman88

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Jan 06, 2009, 09:17 PM »
Now ben ya know thats a secret.;D At home for eyes all we use are shinners.Most days medium shinners work the best but over the weekend i used small shinners and out fished our group on the eyes and perch.Before the regs went into effect you couldnt go wrong with a big ol creek chub

Offline coltons dad

• IceShanty Rookie
  • can you put a chimney in my shack?
« Reply #5 on: Jan 07, 2009, 09:02 AM »