Author Topic: Blades on tipups  (Read 4717 times)

Joel

Blades on tipups
« on: May 03, 2002, 01:34 PM »
When fishing with tipups, I put a couple of blades on where I tie on my leader. I have found green and gold to work the best. I probably get double the flags as my buddies that are fishing the same spots as I

Offline frostbite

• IceShanty Rookie
  • There is no thrill without the chill!!!
Re: Blades on tipups
« Reply #1 on: Nov 26, 2002, 03:34 PM »
That's a great idea! I think i'll try it the next time i go out. THANKS MAN!
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work.

Offline Flash_King

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • FLAG UP!
« Reply #2 on: Nov 27, 2002, 11:21 AM »
I have been using spinner blades on my live bait rigs for over 20 years. Size#1 silver,gold,or red 8" up for perch,pickerel,bass.Size #0 18-24" up for trout,lake trout,white perch (salmon where legal).will always out fish nearby anglers,many come over to see my "secret" and when I see them again they are doing the same.
Good Luck- Good Fishing
GOOD LUCK - GOOD FISHING

Offline Sturge1

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
« Reply #3 on: Dec 02, 2002, 10:59 AM »
Just a quick question' are you using the Colorado, Indiana or the willowleaf blades?
Thanks,
Sturge1

Offline tommyboy

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Dec 02, 2002, 11:17 AM »
In addition to Sturge1's question - How exactly do you rig the blades.  Are the used "in-line" or is that what you hook your bait to? Also, do you guys think that the ultrathin blades usually used for trolling will work for this application, or do I need something heavier?

Thanks in advance!  I should be dropping a line in by the weekend! (I hope)

Offline Flash_King

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • FLAG UP!
« Reply #5 on: Dec 02, 2002, 11:44 AM »