The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: Wheeler on ice  (Read 3263 times)

Offline trapperjim

• Team IceShanty Regular
Wheeler on ice
« on: Dec 09, 2020, 09:23 AM »
Hello again. This is my first year with a wheeler my question is is it worth preparing my wheeler to use on the ice ???.  And how should i prepare it im sure ill need chains. And on average how much of the season does is one able to use a wheeler. TIA 

Offline Anomaly

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Formerly clamfarmer
Re: Wheeler on ice
« Reply #1 on: Dec 09, 2020, 09:56 AM »
Hello again. This is my first year with a wheeler my question is is it worth preparing my wheeler to use on the ice ???.  And how should i prepare it im sure ill need chains. And on average how much of the season does is one able to use a wheeler. TIA

Yes on the chains! I recommend aggressive ones.  My Kawasaki 750 is pretty big and hi. Never had issues in moderate snow. Just had to drive around drifts at times. Mostly you’lll be able to use it. I think, after a big snow storm, I waited til the snow settled. Just a couple days and didn’t have any issues. Like I said, though, I’ve got really aggressive diamond chains and my machine sits fairly high.
"You can’t buy happiness, but you can buy fishing gear and that’s kind of the same thing.” 

Offline Moosekill

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 09, 2020, 10:18 AM »
It really depends on the winter and where you are.  Some years there is lots of snow on the ice and others none.  Same with slush.  Get the chains regardless.

Offline darby74

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Dec 09, 2020, 11:42 AM »