Author Topic: Cone and fish depth  (Read 862 times)

Offline 4°Fahrenheit

• IceShanty Rookie
Cone and fish depth
« on: Jan 22, 2021, 08:18 PM »
I'm no stranger to physics and I'm sure the topic has been covered to the point of "yawn" but searches have revealed nothing.  I'm also sure I just haven't used the correct terminology. Lol. I am new to flashers and their nuances but I'm a fly fishing maniac that studies micro current effect on emerging nymphs and how trout respond. It's a "I wanna know".  I'm am info guy.  The more info in my arsenal, the more success I achieve.

So here goes:

A fish enters a sonar cone and swims along the specific cone diameter for that depth. (We will call it a true right circular cone for argument sake). A sonar measures distance from target to transducer with each signal sent and received.  This distance decreases as the fish gets closer to the midpoint of the diameter and then increases again. This can change its "apparent" depth across the graph. Right?.  Now I know this distance is virtually negligible but can come into play with wide transducers and greater depths.  So my question: Can you discern this apparent change in depth on your flasher(outside of the target fish's mark getting bigger on the flasher)?  Does your strategy incorporate this inherent inaccuracy of sonar?  To me this fraction of an inch sounds absurd but when I discuss micro currents and Leisenring lifts,  I get some that call me absurd; but my tactics are proven on some of the highest pressured tailwaters in the U.S.

Offline river_scum

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • hook n cook
Re: Cone and fish depth
« Reply #1 on: Jan 23, 2021, 04:47 AM »
im sure they took depth and fish position(off to side) into consideration when developing it.  but im not that into it either.  all I wana see is the mark turn red and come up ;D
real fishermen don't ask "where you catch those"

OANN the real story

- member here since -2003- IN.

Offline badger132

• Team IceShanty Maniac