The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Where should i be for perch?  (Read 734 times)

Offline IceDuck406

• IceShanty Rookie
Where should i be for perch?
« on: Feb 07, 2018, 04:59 PM »
Hey guys,
I'm new to ice fishing this year. Ive realized that it's pretty tricky to find the perch on my local lakes ( LMR/ Thompson). I usually look for points and other fisherman to give me an idea of where to set up. I've been checking some contour maps and wondering if I should be focusing on a certain depth,  drop offs,  or finding flats w/ weeds. Any help would be appreciated. I don't have a depth finder yet, so im starting to feel like I have no real strategy. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
Re: Where should i be for perch?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 07, 2018, 05:10 PM »
Perch are fish of the flats ...find some "sticky" bottom...close to weeds ...fish the flat before the break and the bottom of the break out a little ways.
Give a man a fish he eats for a day .Teach a man to ice fish he has an obsession for a lifetime

Offline G fish

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Wish i was a fishing(Too slim n the traildragers)
Re: Where should i be for perch?
« Reply #2 on: Feb 07, 2018, 06:16 PM »
LMR is a hit or miss lake. never fished Thompson.
first thing I would do is save up some money and get a flasher that will change the game for you.
I have fished without a flasher and you need to be open minded. set one rod up as a dead stick with some bait on it about 1-2' off bottom some times they only want it right on the bottom so try it all.