Author Topic: homemade tip-ups  (Read 28246 times)

Offline acplumber

• IceShanty Rookie
homemade tip-ups
« on: Nov 10, 2008, 02:12 PM »
Hello I'm Just new to this Hard water fishing and wanted to know how to make different style of tip-ups.  I already know how to make the see-saw balancing type but wondered what other types there are ie: for out side/windy conditions, springs etc... pictures would also be good. Thanks

Offline pike4some

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • GIT R DONE
Re: homemade tip-ups
« Reply #1 on: Nov 10, 2008, 02:16 PM »
For the price of a tip up I would just buy them. It would not be worth it for me to try making them.

Offline deebsey

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Nov 12, 2008, 09:13 AM »
Unless you really have a ton of time on your hand you would be better off buying them.....Once you buy all the supplies your right at the price of buying already to go ones.
;

FISHFORPIKE

« Reply #3 on: Nov 12, 2008, 09:15 AM »
Unless you really have a ton of time on your hand you would be better off buying them.....Once you buy all the supplies your right at the price of buying already to go ones.
You guys would miss out on all the "fun".  ;D

Offline fish_finder

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Nov 12, 2008, 10:00 AM »
I use homemade tip downs, easy and cheap to make, i prefer them over polars or others that you buy, these never freeze up, if they break chuck em and make a new one, work fine in the wind if you orient them correctly, only thing ive found is early in the season when there is no snow they are a pain to set up , but its easy to fix just nail a base to the bottom ...heres the best pic i got of mine...
Theres only 3 seasons..open water, hunting and icefishing!

Offline flyman1002

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Nov 12, 2008, 10:05 AM »
Fish finder,

How do those tip downs anchor to the ice.  So you just pile shavings and snow around them???????

Offline fish_finder

• Team IceShanty Maniac