Author Topic: New Hub Shelter - Accessories Help  (Read 1511 times)

Offline jimhaney08

• Team IceShanty Addict
New Hub Shelter - Accessories Help
« on: Dec 15, 2017, 09:45 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to ice fishing and am ordering my first shelter.  I'm getting the Clam Bigfoot XL2000.  Going that route because it has the most headroom of comparable shelters and I'm 6'4".  Being in Pennsylvania, I think I'm fine with non-insulated.  We generally aren't dealing with negative digit temps here.

My question is what kind of accessories really make a difference in the shelter?  I already have a depthfinder and have a heater ordered.  What other accessories really make a difference?  Throw your best ideas at me. 

I currently have a sled, auger, slush scoop, folding chair, and 5 gallon bucket.  What am I missing?

-  Jim
My Setup:  Otter XL sled on a smitty.  10" Strikemaster Lithium 50 Volt auger.  Clam Bigfoot XL 2000 hub.  Garmin Striker 5 Ice Bundle.

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
Give a man a fish he eats for a day .Teach a man to ice fish he has an obsession for a lifetime

Offline ActiveTrapChecker

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: New Hub Shelter - Accessories Help
« Reply #2 on: Dec 15, 2017, 10:16 AM »
welcome to the sport of ice fishing!

A spud to test ice unknown ice, for safety
I would add an aerator for the bait bucket. I use a Bubble Box when on the ice and travelling
I recommend adding a nylon strap to your sled rope. the length helps with the trials of the drag and you can also add a should harness to distribute the wait
Headlamp, for the early mornings and the night bite

Offline jethro

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Dec 15, 2017, 10:43 AM »
Some advice with that hub.. you want more headroom? Don't shovel an area where you set it up, shovel it out afterwards and if there is a foot of snow you get another foot of headroom! I love that trick.