The Dark House Spearing board is sponsored by:

Author Topic: making your own spear  (Read 9779 times)

Offline trapper_max

• Team IceShanty Regular
making your own spear
« on: Jan 02, 2010, 08:34 PM »
anyone do it? i looked at a few today but they are about 70bucks that i dont have lol

Offline darkhousefisher

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Me and my fishing buddy
Re: making your own spear
« Reply #1 on: Jan 03, 2010, 02:49 AM »
anyone do it? i looked at a few today but they are about 70bucks that i dont have lol

I built all my spears, but I'm a welder/machinist and mechanic so that kinda stuff comes fairly easy to me.  Dollar wise I don't have much into my spears, but if I figured in my time they'd be pretty spendy  The only advise I could give is to be very patient and make it exaxtly how you want it.  Like the old saying goes..."good enough, rarely is".  Best of luck.

Offline PikeSticker

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Another day at the office~!
« Reply #2 on: Jan 03, 2010, 04:21 AM »
Making them yourself usually requires access to a welder and sometimes a cutting torch as well as figuring out your shopping list for the components for the tines, head, handle, and lead for extra weight as well as a super thin hacksaw for cutting barbs, etc. As DHF alluded to by the time you figure in the price of materials and then a lengthy trial and error construction process its actually kinda pricey. However, I've built three from scratch, two for getting friends into the sport and one for me and there is nothing like sending that shaft straight and true right behind the gillplate of the first fish taken by your own creation. Similar to carving your own decoys and having them actually work and put food on the table or building your own darkhouse. All part of the sport that makes it so great.