Author Topic: Hali Jig on UL Rod  (Read 5335 times)

Offline cougarr

• IceShanty Rookie
Hali Jig on UL Rod
« on: Feb 26, 2008, 11:32 PM »
hi guys, this is my first year into ice fishing and I really enjoy it.
I use tip-ups a lot but have not much success in jigging. Last saturday, however, I managed to land around 30 blue gills on a UL rod using mousies and I now have more interest in jigging.
I want to jig for perch and crappie so I went to a local bait shop and picked up some Hali jigs as shown below, and I have some questions:

1 For UL light rod, do I have a better chance using smaller hali jigs? maybe I should stick to 25mm?
2 As for colour, am I making the right selection? The first two halis in the pic look alike, I read your guys' posts and noticed that the gold and silver color ones are also recommended, so should I replace one of the first two with a gold or silver?
3 What's the best time for perch and crappie? Do you start very early on the ice, say 7am?
Thank you for your feedback and tight lines!

Offline bart

• Team IceShantyholic
  • I love you, Deb
Re: Hali Jig on UL Rod
« Reply #1 on: Feb 27, 2008, 05:39 AM »
   I have purchased the one to the right and a pink. I also have the color to the right minus the red spot and is glow. With a couple of maggots, it is deadly! (all 25mm) I have caught gills, perch, crappie, bullheads, pickerel, and rainbows. Absolutely my favorite jig, using it 90% of the time. I fish early, 6:30am - 12:00pm, and late, 3:00pm-7:00pm mostly. I do prefer the later time, usually around 5:30 on it really turns on, for me anyway...
"Many fish their entire lives without knowing that it is not fish they are after."-Henry David Thoreau
  Keep America Godly...

Offline Dull Hooks

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Feb 27, 2008, 06:52 AM »