Author Topic: super lines  (Read 2479 times)

Offline cityfishin

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
super lines
« on: Dec 04, 2003, 02:42 PM »
I just bought a new UL reel and they spooled it for free, but they didn't have any 2# test. They said that they could use 4# fireline since it's got like a 1# diameter at no additional cost. Usually they charge 10 bucks extra or something like that. Low memory. Low stretch. How do you go wrong? While I was at it, I had them spool 6# hi-vis fireline on my spare spool. My question is how do you guys/gals like icefishing with this super line? I've never used it before and it seems like a great idea, but would like to hear some feedback. I know about tying a palomar knot, but that's it.

Offline eyedoktr

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • keep your pole in the hole
Re:super lines
« Reply #1 on: Dec 04, 2003, 03:38 PM »
I love jigging with superlines in more than 10 FOW. Less than 10', I don't care for it. I hope that before they put it on your spools they put a backing or electrical tape or something on the spool. If not, there's a good chance the line will slip when under pressure. Also, if they are plastic spools, I've seen Fireline actually cut through the spool.
Pete Lewis

Offline cityfishin

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
« Reply #2 on: Dec 04, 2003, 04:06 PM »
I hope that before they put it on your spools they put a backing or electrical tape or something on the spool. If not, there's a good chance the line will slip when under pressure. Also, if they are plastic spools, I've seen Fireline actually cut through the spool.
The salesman wrapped a rubberband around the spools before wrapping them. He told me about slipping and warned me about the possibility of cutting the spare, plastic spool. That one's wrapped with 6#. The other spool is aluminum and shouldn't be a problem. Thanks.

Offline Jigmaster

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • If you ain't jigging you ain't fishin'