Author Topic: New to Utah and the Ice Shanty Community  (Read 975 times)

Offline fattybinz

• IceShanty Rookie
New to Utah and the Ice Shanty Community
« on: Jan 24, 2017, 10:21 AM »
I've been lurking around this forum for a while now. I'm new to Utah and to freshwater fishing in general (I'm from South Florida). Tried ice fishing once and fell in love. I'm thinking of going to strawberry reservoir this weekend but it is huge. To find the best places to fish through trial and error would take a long time and a lot of skunk days. I'd appreciate some pointers on what areas to fish for trout and what depths to aim for. The one time I went ice fishing was at strawberry, I saw some shelters set up 100 feet off of Haws Point and set up there. Didn't have a terrible day...caught 3 decent cutthroats in 4-5 hours. Based on fishing reports and youtube videos it seems like I could do a lot better. I appreciate any advice.

Offline tomertim

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: New to Utah and the Ice Shanty Community
« Reply #1 on: Jan 24, 2017, 02:01 PM »
Fattybinz- Welcome to Utah!  While there is definitely folks here with way more experience at Strawberry, I have had good luck with heading with Marina (just down the boat docks, turn East around the point) also the turn off right before the Marina where the boats are docked, and also Mud Creek.  As far as depth.... it has all depended but I'm usually in the 20-35 feet of water range and the Vexilar will pick them up somewhere off the bottom.  It varies, but I don't notice many close to the bottom but instead at the mid-level. 

Bait wise; I have had a lot of luck on rat finkees, Gitzit Little Tough Guys (Really good luck with these in white, tipped with Wax worms and positioned horizontally), and Teardrops.

Overall, there are some footballs in the Berry.  Good luck and welcome!

Offline fattybinz

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 24, 2017, 02:57 PM »